Personal Occupational Analysis (Barth Time Construction)

     In Service Learning class this week we were to participate in the Barth Time Construction activity. We were to read this prior to coming to class to have a little understanding of what we were participating in. The instructions were read out loud by the instructor of the class, and then we were to begin. Once the time was up the instructor told us to evaluate the chart, and count up the number of hours spend doing each task which was a particular color paper. After we were finished we had a ten to fifteen conversation about the exercise we had just done and compared it to how it might be used in an Occupational Therapy setting.

     My impression of the information presented in class about the Barth Time Construction activity was that it was a very useful activity to do as students entering into the field of Occupational Therapy. This activity at first was confusing to me but after thinking about my week and what I do I got a better grasp of it. What I did have a hard time figuring out was what color to put on my graph for school and homework. School and homework didn’t have a specific category and didn’t fit specifically into another group. I ended up putting it into the category of “meetings, groups” when after I think of it I also could have put it under “work”. School is like work to me because it is a full time job for me to be a student at college. From this one example I had a hard time deciding what color to put on my graph for school because it didn’t’ have a specific group. This is a clear example of how people can have different views on what they do throughout the week. Someone’s work can be someone else’s recreation and hobbies. This I can easily relate to my development as an OT practitioner because I have learned that I can’t consider what I think of work to me as someone else’s work. I have also learned that this is a good activity for people to do because then an OT can have a conversation with the client about many different things. If a client has too much of one certain activity, too less of another, gets sick too much, goes shopping too much, or engages in drinking or drugs; then the OT can then communicate with the client about what they can change or what they want to change about their daily schedule. This activity will help me interact better with a client of mine, and really makes one realize what they spend there week doing, and detect any problems that they might want to change.

     As an individual doing this activity, after looking and observing my own chart I can now clearly see that some hours during the day go unaccounted for. Some hours I really don’t know what I did during them this past week. I have also learned that my sleep is very consistence along with my meals each day. This is a good thing to notice and realize that I am getting the proper amount of sleep needed each day. I have noticed on my chart that there is no red, yellow, or black in which indicate drinking and drugs, shopping, and TV. This is a positive thing to my understandings especially when I see no drugs and in a shortage of money shopping isn’t good either. By reviewing my chart I can clearly see how I occupy my past week.

     I think this assessment we did in class was very helpful to me. I enjoyed doing it even though at times the glue wasn’t working how I wanted it to work and sometimes I had to really think of how I occupied my time. At first I was a little confused as to why we were doing this activity, but after getting half way through the exercise and even afterwards in our class discussion it made perfect sense to me, and I am very glad that I participated in it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Personal Occupational Analysis (Barth Time Construction)

  1. Lynn Giltow says:

    Actually Kelsy this is an OT assessment tool that you might use in practice with your clients to see what their occupations are
    Nice job

Leave a Reply

